Family Law, Criminal Defense & Immigration Attorneys

Misdemeanors & Felonies in Missouri

Getting arrested can be a scary, stressful, and confusing experience, whether it is your first or subsequent offense. No matter what type of charge you face, a conviction can result in harsh criminal penalties, including incarceration, fines, and a permanent mark on your criminal record. 

There are two main types of crimes in Missouri: misdemeanors and felonies. The following is an overview of both offenses. 

Misdemeanors 

A misdemeanor in Missouri can carry a potential local or county jail term of up to one year, while less serious misdemeanors are punishable by only a fine. There are four classes of misdemeanors – with Class A considered the most serious, while the least serious type is Class D. 

The following is a breakdown of the misdemeanor classes in MO: 

  • Class A misdemeanor – Punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and/or a fine no more than $2,000 

  • Class B misdemeanor – Carries a jail term of up to six months and/or a maximum fine of $1,000 

  • Class C misdemeanor – Punishable by a jail sentence of up to 15 days and/or a maximum fine of $700 

  • Class D misdemeanor – Carries a maximum fine of $500 

If you have been arrested for a theft or property-related crime, the fine could be double the amount you allegedly gained from the offense. Fines may be paid in installments. 

Felonies 

Felonies are more serious than misdemeanors since they are punishable by more than one year in state prison. There are five classes of felonies – with Class A considered the most serious and the least serious being Class E. 

The prison sentences of the following felonies in MO include: 

  • Class A felony – Carries a prison sentence between 10 and 30 years 

  • Class B felony – Punishable by imprisonment between five and 15 years 

  • Class C felony – Carries a prison term between three and 10 years 

  • Class D felony – Punishable by imprisonment of up to seven years 

  • Class E felony – Carries a prison sentence of up to four years 

However, Class D and E felonies may be punishable by a jail term of up to one year. Keep in mind, any sentence that carries more than one year must be served in state prison. 

A Class C, D, or E felony can also result in a maximum fine of $10,000 or double the amount you allegedly gained financially from an offense. 

Let Smith Law Offices, LLC Defend You 

Whether you are facing a misdemeanor or felony offense, you need to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you either get your entire case dismissed or your charges/penalties reduced. At Smith Law Offices, LLC, we are committed to protect your rights, reputation, and freedom from serious criminal charges. 

If you have been arrested in St. Charles, MO, call Smith Law Offices, LLC at (636) 400-1177 or fill out our online contact form today to schedule a free consultation. Our legal team has more than 30 years of combined legal experience!